30 September 2014

One more detail from the first flight. The crew and the food on Korean Air are always good. I thought that I had specified the Asian or Oriental-Vegetarian meal but had been tagged with Ovo-Lacto Asian-Vegetarian. Yet, at dessert time, somehow the crew assumed that I did not consume dairy products. So, I had to ask for ice cream if I wanted some. At the end of one meal, the other option was one of two or three cheeses and fruit. The blue cheese looked interesting and I asked for it.

It was a decision that was well-rewarded. The cheese, a Bleu de Gex or (more likely) Bleu d’Auvergne, was outstanding. After every bit, I literally exclaimed, “Wow! Wow!” The wonderfully complex and subtle flavors delighted the palate. I am at least 90% vegan. This cheese has singlehandedly sabotaged my plan to turn 100% vegan. It really was that good! But, then again, I may have the discipline to live without it. After all, three weeks ago, I finally kicked my daily chocolate habit.

Lately, Hawaii has been going through a hellish period of heat and humidity. A few days ago, when I had compared the weather, Mumbai was actually 2 degrees cooler than Kaneohe. Unfortunately, two or three days before my arrival that changed. Even at night, it had been oppressive. The temperature has been as high as 93 F / 34 C. Add to that the soupy humidity and death seemed preferable at times. Even with ventilation and fans blasting away, sweat kept sprouting faster than could be wiped away.

Around 6:30 pm, my older sister and walked around the neighborhood to run some errands. As it grew dark, without any warning, a torrential downpour of biblical proportions hit South Mumbai. Everyone ran into buildings or stayed as far within any shelter they could find. The son of the owner of “George Electric” led us through a narrow, covered passage in between two buildings, to the front of the Metro building. From there we walked, mostly under shelter, until we were directly opposite my parents’ apartment building. Even under shelter, four feet away from the street, we were being sprayed as the wind was whipping away in a frenzy. There were also “thunderbolt and lightning-very very frightening!”

The rain was welcome in that it would result in cooler temperatures for a little while but its intensity was beyond belief. When the rain eased a little, we finally dashed across the side street to Leopold Cafe and from there across the main road, Colaba Causeway. We ran into the lobby of Esperanca, where at least 30 office and bank workers were huddled waiting to go home. I said out loud to no one in particular, “Go out there. It’s good for you!” My sister and I were lucky in that some 10 seconds of drenching could easily be dealt with.

Turned out that my father had anticipated the coming of this storm but not its ferocity. My mother said, more than once, that it was the “Return Monsoon” that occurs every year but that this was the worst ever. Our plan to have Chaat (Bhel Puri, Sev Puri, Dahi Batata Puri, and Pani Puri), on my first night home, had to be shelved. My brother came over a little later and we ordered take-out from Bade Miya. Good stuff! The rain knocked out the Cable TV service depriving at least some homes of “Kaun Banega Crorepati?” (The Indian version of “Who Wants to be a Millionaire?” featured in the worst movie I have ever seen “Slumdog Millionaire.”)

Leave a comment